To The Duke

To The Duke

Thursday, May 28, 2015

Meet McKendree Long

High Hill Press and Cactus Country Publishing are proud to announce that McKendree Long's newest novel, Higher Ground, hit the bookstore shelves this month. Mike's first two novels, No Good Like It Is and Dog Soldier Moon were awarded final honors in the National Indie Excellence Book Awards. All three books are available everywhere good books are sold. Kindle versions are also available. 

No-Good-Like-It-Is   Dog-Soldier-Moon
Check out Mike's website for more information about his books and about his life.
McKendree R. Long III

Mike's short story, Chouteau's Crossing, was a finalist for a Spur Award in Short Fiction given out by Western Writers of America. Mike was honored at the Finalist Luncheon in Sacramento, CA in June of 2014. The story was published in an anthology titled Rough Country edited by Brett Cogburn and published by High Hill Press in December of 2013. The anthology is available in hard cover everywhere books are sold, and is also available as a Kindle. 
Rough Country
And Watch this Site for an Interview with author McKendree Long.

Where did the rest of the West go?

Saddle up and Write!

I've got this John Wayne quote on mugs, t-shirts, wall plaques, and notebooks. It's always been my favorite, although until recently I hadn't given much thought to how much it fits with what a writer does.

Writers are almost always scared to death. They're scared to death no one will like what they write. They're scared to death they won't get their work published. Then when it is published they're scared to death it won't sell, or if it does, people won't like it. Then they start worrying about the next story, or essay, or book and they go through the whole process again; scared to death no one will like it, it won't sell and when it does, no one will buy it. The circle of fear, writing, publishing, fear, writing, just keeps going. So although we are always scared to death it will all end at any minute, we still get into that saddle and write the next story or novel or screenplay. We will always saddle up and write.

Texas! The latest in the Frank Brothers Series

Dusty Richards has done it again with his latest novel,Texas, the fourth in the Frank Brothers Series. For fans of Dusty, and for fans of the western, this is a must read.

Cactus Country has reissued the first book in Dusty Richards' Frank Brothers Series, Outlaw Queen, available everywhere. 

Dusty Richards accepting his Heritage Award at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum.